ICC T20 World Cup 2024: The Qualified Teams

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: The Qualified Teams

The stage is set for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, and the list of qualified teams is now official. Hosted by the dynamic duo of West Indies and the United States, the tournament promises to be a showcase of thrilling cricket action.

The lineup of directly qualified teams boasts a mix of established giants and emerging talents. Defending champions England lead the pack, bringing their impeccable track record to the forefront. Hot on their heels is Pakistan, the runners-up from the previous edition. Adding to the roster of competitive squads are semi-finalists India and New Zealand, along with cricketing powerhouses Australia, Sri Lanka, South Africa, and the Netherlands.

In accordance with the qualification criteria, the International Cricket Council (ICC) had earmarked 12 automatic slots for the ninth edition of the biennial T20 International (T20I) spectacle. Two outstanding teams, Afghanistan and Bangladesh, secured these coveted positions as per their impressive rankings in the ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings.

The remaining eight slots for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 are in the process of being claimed through ICC regional qualifiers. These qualifiers will determine the top two teams from the African, Asian, and European regions, complemented by a team each from the Americas and the East Asia-Pacific groups.

Scotland and Ireland have already stamped their tickets to the main event by triumphing in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier. Scotland clinched victory by a margin of eight runs in a thrilling final clash with Ireland. Similarly, Papua New Guinea emerged victorious in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup East Asia-Pacific Qualifier, defeating Japan by six wickets in the final battle.

The ICC T20 World Cup 2024 will embrace an exhilarating format, as the 20 participating teams will be strategically divided into four groups, each consisting of five teams. Mark your calendars for the ninth edition of this pulsating T20 World Cup, scheduled to ignite from June 4 to June 30, 2024.

The ICC T20 World Cup 2024 promises to be an enthralling spectacle, showcasing the dynamic world of cricket with a diverse mix of talent from across the globe. Prepare to witness captivating contests and remarkable cricketing moments as these talented teams vie for glory.

Here’s a List of the qualified teams for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024:

  • West Indies
  • United States
  • England
  • Pakistan
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • Australia
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Netherlands
  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Scotland
  • Ireland
  • Papua New Guinea

Read: T20 World Cup 2024: Full List of Men’s T20 WC Venues – Seven in the Caribbean, Three in the USA