ODI World Cup Player of the Tournament Awardees (1992-2023)

In the illustrious history of the ICC Cricket World Cup, spanning 48 years of gripping cricketing narratives, the introduction of the Player of the Tournament award in 1992 added an extra layer of recognition to stellar individual performances.

Cricket aficionados have witnessed legendary players elevate their game to extraordinary heights, becoming pivotal figures in steering their teams towards the coveted World Cup trophy. Achieving this pinnacle requires individuals with nerves of steel, capable of altering the course of a match even in the most precarious situations.

Over the past 12 editions of the ODI World Cup, numerous players have etched their names in history with exceptional performances, each contributing to the collective journey of their respective teams. Since its inception in 1992, the ‘Player of the Tournament’ award has been a symbol of acknowledgment for these remarkable contributions.

The inaugural Player of the Tournament award in World Cup history was bestowed upon the legendary New Zealand captain, Martin Crowe, who amassed 456 runs in nine innings during the 1992 edition. Sanath Jayasuriya claimed the honor in 1996, showcasing his prowess with both bat and ball, scoring 221 runs and taking seven wickets.

In 1999, Lance Klusener left an indelible mark, clinching the prestigious award for his remarkable performance—scoring 281 runs and scalping 17 wickets. The 2003 edition witnessed Sachin Tendulkar’s brilliance as he emerged as the top run-scorer with an unparalleled 673 runs, despite India’s heartbreaking loss to Australia in the final.

Also Read: Top Run-Scorers in ICC Cricket World Cup History

Glenn McGrath bid adieu to his international career in 2007 by clinching the Player of the Tournament title, amassing a record 26 wickets. Yuvraj Singh’s stellar all-round display defined the 2011 edition, where he scored 362 runs and claimed 15 wickets, etching his name in World Cup history.

In 2015, Mitchell Starc’s exceptional bowling guided Australia to their fifth title, earning him the Player of the Tournament with 22 wickets. Kane Williamson showcased his batting prowess and exceptional captaincy in 2019, amassing 578 runs and securing the award.

As we eagerly anticipate the 2023 edition, which promises another chapter of cricketing brilliance, the list of Player of the Tournament winners stands as a testament to the individual brilliance that has illuminated the grand stage of the ODI World Cup.

Check out the List of Player of the Tournament winners (1992-2023):

World Cup EditionPlayer Of The Tournament Winner
1992Martin Crowe (456 runs, 9 innings)
1996Sanath Jayasuriya (221 runs, 7 wickets)
1999Lance Klusener (281 runs, 17 wickets)
2003Sachin Tendulkar (673 runs, 11 innings)
2007Glenn McGrath (26 wickets, 11 matches)
2011Yuvraj Singh (362 runs, 15 wickets, 9 matches)
2015Mitchell Starc (22 wickets, 8 matches)
2019Kane Williamson (578 runs, 11 matches)

1 thought on “ODI World Cup Player of the Tournament Awardees (1992-2023)”

Leave a Comment