Highest Wickets Takers in IPL (2008-2023): Top 20 Bowlers List

The record for the highest number of wickets taken in IPL is jointly held by Trinidadian cricketer Dwayne Bravo and Indian bowler Yuzvendra Chahal. 170 wickets have been taken by Lasith Malinga, who is ranked third in terms of wicket-taking.

Cricket, a widely adored and monitored sport worldwide, has a record for the highest number of wickets taken in the Indian Premier League. The sport has undergone evolution over time, leading to the emergence of diverse formats that cater to distinct audiences. The Indian Premier League, commonly referred to as IPL, has garnered significant attention and has become widely popular.

The IPL is a recurring cricket league of the Twenty20 format that was established in 2008 for professional players. Since its inception, the sporting event has garnered immense popularity and success, both in India and globally. The league comprises of 10 teams featuring elite cricketers from various parts of the globe. The IPL’s competition for orange and purple caps is a highly stimulating facet. The IPL season culminates with the presentation of an orange cap to the top run-scorer of the season. The bowler who has the maximum number of wickets in the season is presented with a purple cap. In the game of cricket, each player assumes a crucial function. Each run and wicket holds significance. Wickets symbolise the decline of the adversary team’s batting order.

The competition for the highest number of wickets taken in the IPL has been intriguing. The league has been witness to the display of exceptional bowling skills by some of the world’s finest players, who have contended for the highly sought-after title and cap. The focus of this article is on the bowlers who have accumulated the highest number of wickets in the history of the tournament. The bowlers have made significant contributions to their respective teams. Initiating analysis of the bowlers with the highest number of wickets in the IPL.

List of Top Most Wickets Takers in IPL (2008-2023)

The top 20 bowlers in IPL history by number of wickets taken are listed below:

IPL 2023 Leading Bowlers

IPL 2008-2023 Leading Bowlers

BowlerNo. of Wickets
Dwayne Bravo183
Yuzvendra Chahal183
Piyush Chawla174
Amit Mishra172
Ravichandran Ashwin171
Lasith Malinga170
Bhuvneshwar Kumar154
Sunil Narine153
Harbhajan Singh150
Jasprit Bumrah145
Umesh Yadav136
Ravindra Jadeja133
Rashid Khan114
Sandeep Sharma114
Ashish Nehra106
Vinay Kumar105
Axar Patel102
Zaheer Khan102
Mohammad Shami101
Kagiso Rabada99

Read | Top 10 youngest player to hit an ipl Century

2 thoughts on “Highest Wickets Takers in IPL (2008-2023): Top 20 Bowlers List”

Leave a Comment