IPL Winning Prize Money List from 2008-2023

IPL Prize Money Winners from 2008 to 2023: The Indian Premier League (IPL) has experienced significant expansion since its inception in 2008, becoming one of the most prestigious and lucrative cricket leagues globally.

The establishment of the T20 World Cup followed India’s triumph in the first edition of the tournament in 2007. The value of IPL has witnessed a significant surge of around Rs 91,000 crores in 2023, primarily due to the formation of new partnerships and media rights agreements.

BCCI officials have conveyed their intention to augment the prize money for the IPL by 20 to 25 percent. The IPL possesses a prize pool of 46.5 crores, and the champions of the IPL 2023 campaign are slated to obtain Rs 20 crores. A sum of Rs 13 crores will be granted to the team securing the second position, whereas Rs 7 crores each will be rewarded to the two teams qualifying for the playoffs.

The substantial prize amounts offered in the tournament enhance the competitive nature of the event and provide added incentive for the teams, intensifying the excitement and fervor of the IPL.

List of IPL Winning Prize Money from 2008-2023:

SeasonWinner Prize Money (in Rs)Runner-up Prize Money (in Rs)
IPL 2008-20094.8 crore2.4 crore
IPL 2010-201310 crore5 crore
IPL 2014-201515 crore10 crore
IPL 2016-201920 crore11 crore
IPL 202010 crore6.25 crore
IPL 202120 crore12.5 crore
IPL 2022-202320 crore13 crore
IPL Winning Prize Money List (2008-2023)

IPL Winning Prize Money from 2008-2023:

IPL 2008 to 2009:

For the first two seasons, the winner received Rs 4.8 crore in prize money, while the runner-up received Rs 2.4 crore.

IPL 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013:

The winning prize now totals Rs. 10 crore, while the runner-up receives Rs. 5 crore.

IPL 2014 and 2015:

The prize money for the year 2014, 2015 was raised to Rs 15 crore, with the second-place finisher receiving Rs 10 crore.

IPL 2016-2019:

The prize money for the winner and runner-up in 2016 was raised to Rs 20 crore and Rs 11 crore, respectively, and this has remained unchanged until 2019.

IPL 2020:

The prize money was reduced to Rs 10 crore for the winner and Rs 6.25 crore for the runner-up in 2020 due to the pandemic.

IPL 2021:

Even though there was a corona pandemic, the winning prize was increased to Rs 20 crore for the winner and Rs 12.5 crore for the runner-up.

IPL 2022:

The prize money for the winner of IPL 2022 was Rs 20 crore, while the runner-up received Rs 13 crore.

IPL 2023:

The prize money for 2023 will be the same as in 2022, the winner will get Rs 20 crore, and Runner-up will get Rs 13 crore.

Read | IPL 2023 Final: Match Date, Timings, Ticket, Venue, Teams, Final Team Winner List