Who have Scored most runs in finals in IPL history?

CSK has been represented by up to four of the top five players with the highest number of runs in IPL finals.

The IPL 2023 final will witness a clash between Chennai Super Kings (CSK), led by MS Dhoni, and defending champions Gujarat Titans (GT) at the iconic Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday, May 28. Several athletes have exhibited thrilling displays in the final match since the establishment of the league in 2008.

A record-breaking ten times since the first season, the yellow team has made it to the final, which is noteworthy. The data indicates that CSK batters have a slight advantage in the batting charts during finals. Suresh Raina, a former star player, has scored the highest number of runs in finals with a total of 249 at an average of 35.57. He has also achieved two half-centuries in eight appearances.

Shane Watson, a former Australian cricketer, has amassed a total of 236 runs in four matches, including a century and a fifty. Rohit Sharma, the captain of Mumbai Indians, ranks third on the prestigious list with a total of 183 runs in six matches, averaging at 30.50.

Murali Vijay, a former CSK batter, has been included in the list for accumulating 181 runs in four matches. The individual’s most notable performance occurred during a match against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in 2011, where he achieved an impressive score of 95 runs from 52 deliveries and was subsequently awarded the title of Player of the Match.

Legendary captain MS Dhoni, who is currently fifth on the elite list, has 180 runs at an average of 36 in eight innings. Dhoni is scheduled to participate in his 10th IPL Final while wearing the yellow uniform against the reigning champions in Ahmedabad. He possesses the ability to ascend this ranking. The potential for Dhoni to showcase his formidable batting skills and secure a place among the top three in this exclusive roster is yet to be determined, pending the outcome of Sunday’s highly anticipated final.

Most runs in IPL Finals:

PlayerRunsInningsStrike RateAverageHigh Score50’s100’s
Suresh Raina2498150.0035.577320
Shane Watson2364163.8878.66117*11
Rohit Sharma1836129.7830.506820
Murali Vijay1814147.1545.259510
MS Dhoni1808135.3336.0063*10

Read | Top 5 Overseas run-getters in IPL History

Most IPL Finals : CSK have qualified for their 10th IPL Final, List of teams with the most IPL Final appearances

IPL 2023 Final: In the IPL 2023 Qualifier 1, Chennai Super Kings emerged victorious over Gujarat Titans in a closely contested match by a margin of 15 runs at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

Most IPL Finals: On Tuesday, at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, Chennai Super Kings emerged victorious over Gujarat Titans in a closely contested match by a margin of 15 runs. Chennai Super Kings have achieved their 10th IPL final record with the victory. The data suggests that CSK has achieved the highest level of success in reaching the IPL final among all franchises.

CSK has exhibited unparalleled consistency throughout the history of IPL, surpassing all other teams in this regard. The franchise captained by MS Dhoni has emerged victorious in the IPL championship four times, while also experiencing defeat in the final on five occasions. CSK has also appeared in the most IPL games (12 times in 14 years), according to record.

The team that currently holds the top position on the list is CSK. However, there exist other teams as well that have participated in multiple IPL finals. Let us look at them.

CSK has entered its 10th IPL Final, making it the team with the highest number of appearances in the tournament’s history. You can check out the other teams with the most IPL appearances.

IPL Finals History for Chennai Super Kings

CSK has reached the finals ten times in the 16 seasons of Indian Premier League. The team has won the title four times and is now aiming to secure their fifth victory, having reached another IPL final. In the event of successful completion, CSK will achieve parity with Mumbai Indians. Chennai has experienced shortcomings on several occasions, in addition to having only four titles.

The following is a record of the IPL finals in which Chennai has participated throughout the history of the IPL:

2008Rajasthan RoyalsDY PatilJune 01, 2008Runners-up
2010Mumbai IndiansDY PatilApril 25, 2010Champions
2011Royal Challengers BangaloreChennaiMay 28, 2011Champions
2012Kolkata Knight RidersChennaiMay 27, 2012Runners-up
2013Mumbai IndiansEden GardensMay 26, 2013Runners-up
2015Mumbai IndiansEden GardensMay 24, 2015Runners-up
2018Sunrisers HyderabadWankhedeMay 27, 2018Champions
2019Mumbai IndiansHyderabadMay 12, 2019Runners-up
2021Kolkata Knight RidersDubai (DSC)October 15, 2021Champions

Most appearances in IPL Finals

  • Chennai Super Kings have reached the IPL Finals 10 times out of 14 seasons.
  • Mumbai Indians have participated in 15 seasons of IPL and have reached the finals 6 times.
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore has reached the finals of the Indian Premier League thrice in a span of 16 seasons.
  • Kolkata Knight Riders have reached the finals of the Indian Premier League on three occasions in the span of 16 seasons.

The Chennai Super Kings have achieved their 10th IPL final, setting a new record, by defeating the Gujarat Titans with a 15-run victory at Chepauk on Tuesday.

The Mumbai Indians, a five-time IPL champion, have participated in six IPL finals throughout 15 seasons. The IPL team known as the Men in Blue remains active in the year 2023 and is presently in contention for their seventh IPL Final appearance.

Royal Challengers Bangalore has participated in three IPL Finals, comes in second to MI. The Indian Premier League title has not yet been claimed by the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Kolkata Knight Riders, having made three IPL final appearances, emerged victorious in two of them during 2012 and 2014.

The objective of CSK is to match Mumbai Indians’ achievement of securing five IPL titles, which is scheduled to take place on May 28th at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.