Top Run-Scorers in ICC Cricket World Cup History

Top Run-Scorers in ICC Cricket World Cup History

Cricket aficionados worldwide eagerly await the grand spectacle of One Day Internationals (ODIs) known as the ICC Cricket World Cup. This premier tournament gathers the best teams globally to engage in a fierce competition, providing a stage for players to showcase their talents and skills on a world platform.

The ICC Cricket World Cup, held every four years, captivates millions of cricket enthusiasts globally. The participation of the top 10 teams in the world intensifies the competition, resulting in weeks of challenging and high-stakes matches. While cricket is fundamentally a team sport, individual performances significantly influence the game’s outcome, shaping the fortunes of the competing teams.

Beyond the coveted silver-and-gold trophy, the ICC awards the Golden Bat to the player who amasses the most runs throughout the tournament. In the twelve editions of the World Cup held to date, Sachin Tendulkar from India stands tall as the highest run-scorer. The legendary Indian batsman, who graced the tournament from 1992 to 2011, played 45 matches and achieved a remarkable record of 2278 runs at an average of 56.95. This feat gains even more admiration when considering the magnitude of the matches, where playing against the best in the world is akin to a relentless challenge.

Sachin Tendulkar, revered not only for his overall run tally but also for sharing the record for the most centuries in the tournament’s history with Rohit Sharma, has left an indelible mark on the ICC Cricket World Cup.

Also Read: ODI World Cup Player of the Tournament Awardees (1992-2023)

Looking ahead, the upcoming ICC World Cup in 2023 is slated to be hosted by India, scheduled for October-November. With approximately three months left for the tournament, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is yet to unveil the schedule. Reports indicate that the ICC will host an event in Mumbai on June 27, fueling anticipation that the much-awaited schedule might be disclosed during this occasion. As cricket enthusiasts gear up for another thrilling edition, the legacy of top run-scorers in the ICC Cricket World Cup continues to be etched in the annals of the sport’s history.

List of Top Run-Scorers in ICC Cricket World Cup History:

Statistics as of November 2023

PlayerYearsMatchesInningsNot OutsRunsHighest ScoreAverageStrike Rate100s50sDucks
Sachin Tendulkar1992-201245444227815256.9588.986152
Ricky Ponting1996-2011464241743140*45.8679.95561
Virat Kohli2011-202336367174111760.0388.285111
Kumar Sangakkara2003-201537358153212456.7486.55571
Rohit Sharma2015-202327272152814061.12104.51762
David Warner2015-202328282152017858.46101.19650
Shakib Al Hasan2007-2023363641332124*41.6282.272111
Brian Lara1992-200734334122511642.2486.26271
AB de Villiers2007-2015232231207162*63.52117.29464
Chris Gayle2003-201935341118621535.9390.53262
Sanath Jayasuriya1992-200738373116512034.2690.66360
Jacques Kallis1996-2011363271148128*45.9274.4192

Note: Statistics include total runs, highest score, average, strike rate, centuries (100s), half-centuries (50s), and ducks.