[Updated] List of IPL Winners: 2008 to 2023

Gujarat Titans (GT) are the current IPL champions. IPL Winners List 2023. The league has been won the most number of times by Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. Check the full list of IPL-winning teams from 2008 to 2023 here.

The Indian Premier League is an annual cricket tournament in India that garners a massive global audience. Here is a list of IPL winners. The Indian Premier League (IPL) adheres to a Twenty20 format and comprises 10 teams that engage in a two-month-long competition to claim the highly sought-after IPL trophy.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) made its debut in 2008 and has been conducted annually without interruption. Despite the pandemic, the tournament successfully provided entertainment to its fans and has now returned for its 16th season. The Indian Premier League (IPL) is often associated with thrilling conclusions and extremely tight contests. To date, seven teams have achieved the status of ultimate winner, as only one team can hold this distinction.

The IPL trophy has been lifted the most times by Mumbai Indians (5) and Chennai Super Kings (4) franchises. The IPL has been won by only one other team more than once, which is Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). The Gujarat Titans, who made their debut in the 2022 IPL, are the reigning champions, having emerged victorious in their inaugural campaign.Continue reading to learn more fascinating IPL facts, and scroll down to see a list of every team to ever win the competition.

Continue reading to find out more fascinating IPL facts, and scroll down to see a list of every team to ever win the competition.

List of IPL Winners and Runner ups (2008-2023)

YearWinnerCaptainRunner Up
2022Gujarat Titans (GT)Hardik PandyaRajasthan Royals (RR)
2021Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Mahendra Singh DhoniKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
2020Mumbai Indians (MI)Rohit SharmaDelhi Capitals (DC)
2019Mumbai Indians (MI)Rohit SharmaChennai Super Kings (CSK)
2018Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Mahendra Singh DhoniSunrisers Hyderabad (SRC)
2017Mumbai Indians (MI)Rohit SharmaRising Pune Supergiants (RPS)
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)David WarnerRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
2015Mumbai Indians (MI)Rohit SharmaChennai Super Kings (CSK)
2014Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Gautam GambhirKings XI Punjab (KXIP)
2013Mumbai Indians (MI)Ricky Ponting / Rohit SharmaChennai Super Kings (CSK)
2012Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Gautam GambhirChennai Super Kings (CSK)
2011Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Mahendra Singh DhoniRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
2010Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Mahendra Singh DhoniMumbai Indians (MI)
2009Deccan Chargers (DEC)Adam GilchristRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
2008Rajasthan Royals (RR)Shane WarneChennai Super Kings (CSK)

IPL 2023 Winner

The outcome of IPL 2023’s winner shall be determined on May 28th. The upcoming match of the season will feature Chennai Super Kings (CSK), who have won the title four times, and the defending champions, Gujarat Titans. Is there a possibility of a partnership between CSK and Mumbai Indians (MI) to secure the highest number of championships? What is the likelihood of GT winning the trophy and retaining their championship title? The outcome of the finals will be determined today.

IPL 2022 Winner

The 2022 IPL was won with ease by Gujarat Titans (GT), a debuting franchise led by Hardik Pandya. The team exhibited a dominant performance, commencing with a minimal loss of 4 matches out of 14 against their competitors. The IPL title was won by Gujarat Titans after defeating Rajasthan Royals twice in the playoffs. The Orange Cap for most runs was won by Jos Buttler of Rajasthan Royals. In IPL 2022, Buttler achieved 4 centuries and 4 fifties.

Please find below the details of the Orange Cap, Purple Cap, and other significant awards of the IPL.

List of IPL Man of the Series (2008 – 2023)

YearPlayer NameTeamAchievements
2022Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals863 Runs
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore59 Runs, 32 Wickets
2020Jofra ArcherRajasthan Royals113 Runs, 20 Wickets
2019Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders510 Runs, 11 Wickets
2018Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders357 Runs, 17 Wickets
2017Ben StokesRising Pune Supergiant316 Runs, 12 Wickets
2016Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Bangalore973 Runs
2015Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders326 Runs, 14 Wickets
2014Glenn MaxwellPunjab Kings552 Runs, 1 Wicket
2013Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals543 Runs, 13 Wickets
2012Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders24 Wickets
2011Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore608 Runs, 8 Wickets
2010Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians618 Runs
2009Adam GilchristDeccan Chargers495 Runs
2008Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals472 Runs, 17 Wickets

List of IPL Orange Cap Winners (2008 – 2023)

YearPlayer NameTeamRuns
2022Jos ButtlerRR863
2021Ruturaj GaikwadCSK635
2020KL RahulKXIP670
2019David WarnerSRH692
2018Kane WilliamsonSRH735
2017David WarnerSRH641
2016Virat KohliRCB973
2015David WarnerSRH562
2014Robin UthappaKKR660
2013Michael HusseyCSK733
2012Chris GayleRCB733
2011Chris GayleRCB608
2010Sachin TendulkarMI618
2009Matthew HaydenCSK572
2008Shaun MarshKXIP616

List of IPL Purple Cap Winners (2008–2023)

YearPlayer NameTeam NameWickets
2022Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals27
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore32
2020Kagiso RabadaDelhi Capitals30
2019Imran TahirChennai Super Kings26
2018Andrew TyeKings XI Punjab24
2017Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad26
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad23
2015Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings26
2014Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings23
2013Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings32
2012Morne MorkelDelhi Daredevils25
2011Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians28
2010Pragyan OjhaDeccan Chargers21
2009RP SinghDeccan Chargers23
2008Sohail TanvirRajasthan Royals22

List of IPL Emerging Winners (2008 – 2023)

Player NameTeam NameIPL Edition
Shreevats GoswamiRoyal Challengers Bangalore2008
Rohit SharmaDeccan Chargers2009
Saurabh TiwaryMumbai Indians2010
Iqbal AbdullahKolkata Knight Riders2011
Mandeep SinghPunjab Kings2012
Sanju SamsonRajasthan Royals2013
Axar PatelPunjab Kings2014
Shreyas IyerDelhi Capitals2015
Mustafizur RahmanSunrisers Hyderabad2016
Basil ThampiGujarat Lions2017
Rishabh PantDelhi Capitals2018
Shubman GillKolkata Knight Riders2019
Devdutt PadikkalRoyal Challengers Bangalore2020
Ruturaj GaikwadChennai Super Kings2021
Umran MalikSunrisers Hyderabad2022


Who has hit most sixes in IPL?

With 349 sixes, Chris Gayle leads all six-hitters in the IPL.

Has RCB ever won IPL?

The Royal Challengers are one of the three original franchises that have never won the IPL and have never claimed the championship. However, in 2009, 2011 and 2016, RCB finished as runners-up on three occasions.

Which is the No 1 team in IPL?

The team with the most IPL championships is Mumbai Indians. They played in the finals six times and won the tournament five times. Despite reaching the finals nine times, Chennai Super Kings have only won the IPL four times.

How many times Mumbai Indians has won the IPL?

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) has won the Cup four times, whereas Mumbai Indians (MI) has won the Indian Premier League (IPL) five times.

Who won IPL 2022?

Gujarat Titans (GT) won the IPL 2022, with Rajasthan Royals (RR) coming in second.

Leave a Comment