Fastest 50 in IPL History (2008 – 2023)

The record for the fastest 50 in IPL history is held by Yashasvi Jaiswal. Fifty runs were scored by him in just 13 balls. The duo of KL Rahul and Pat Cummins have achieved the milestone of scoring 50 runs in just 14 balls, placing them in second position. Prior to 2018, the highest score achieved in 15 balls was held by Yusuf Pathan and Sunil Narine, who both scored 50 runs. In the current rankings, Nicholas Pooran holds the sixth position and has achieved a half century in just 15 deliveries. Processing request to retrieve the comprehensive record of the top 50 fastest performances in the history of IPL.

The Indian Premier League, a renowned T20 cricket tournament, is widely recognized for its thrilling matches, including the fastest 50. The batting aspect of IPL is a significant contributor to the excitement it generates. The crowd’s excitement is most heightened by the achievement of their preferred athletes and the presence of a boundary.

Throughout the 16 seasons of IPL, numerous distinguished batsmen have taken part, yet only a select few have accomplished the feat of recording powerful innings such as fifties and hundreds. Batsmen who were substituted or joined the team at the eleventh hour have exhibited exceptional performance by scoring centuries that led to the team’s victory. Today’s topic of discussion pertains to the compilation of the most expeditious fifties in the Indian Premier League (IPL) chronicles, spanning from 2008 to 2023.

The following are the highlights of the fastest 50 in IPL from 2008 to 2023.

  • Yashasvi Jaiswal: Yashasvi Jaiswal, the opener for Rajasthan Royals and a promising talent for Indian cricket, currently holds the record for the fastest fifty in the history of IPL. On May 11, 2023, against Kolkata Knight Riders, the individual achieved a fifty in a mere 13 balls.

  • KL Rahul: Lucknow Super Giants captain and former Punjab Kings captain KL Rahul is currently the record holder for the fastest 50 in IPL history. In 2018, KL Rahul achieved a match-winning score of 51 off 14 balls against Delhi Capitals (formerly known as Delhi Daredevils).

  • Pat Cummins: Pat Cummins, who is tied with KL Rahul as the fastest player to score a half-century in IPL. Cummins smashed an unbeaten 56 off 14 balls playing for KKR against MI in the 2022 IPL.

  • Yusuf Pathan and Sunil Narine from KKR are the next in line, having achieved fifties in just 15 balls as well. Pathan scored 72 runs playing against SRH in 2014, and Narine repeated the feat in 2017 against RCB. LSG’s Nicholas Pooran also scored a fifty off 15 balls in 2023 IPL against RCB.

Fastest Fifty in IPL 2023

  • Yashasvi Jaiswal: On May 11, 2023, Yashasvi Jaiswal of Rajasthan Royals set a new record for the fastest fifty in IPL history during a match against Kolkata Knight Riders. Jaiswal’s batting performance resulted in scoring 50 runs in only 13 deliveries.Nicholas Pooran of Lucknow Super Giants holds the record for the fastest 50 in Tata IPL 2023.
Yashasvi Jaiswal smashed fastest 50 in IPL History

  • The captain exhibited an impressive performance by scoring 62 runs in 19 deliveries, including a 50 off 15 balls versus RCB.Jason Roy of KKR and Ajinkya Rahane of CSK are currently tied for the second fastest 50 scored this season.

  • Jason Roy achieved his second quickest half-century (total: 59) in IPL 2023 versus RCB on April 26, taking only 22 deliveries.

  • Roy achieved a score of 61 runs, including a half-century, in 19 balls against CSK. Similarly, Rahane also took 19 balls to reach a total of 61 runs, including fifty runs, against Mumbai Indians.

  • The joint record holders for the next fastest fifty in the 2023 IPL are Rajasthan Royals’ Jos Buttler and Kolkata Knight Riders’ Shardul Thakur. Buttler achieved his sixteenth fifty in the IPL versus Sunrisers Hyderabad in a mere 20 balls, whereas Thakur also took 20 balls to score his half century against RCB.

  • Shivam Dube of CSK is similarly linked with Buttler and Thakur. A half century was scored by Dube in 20 balls against KKR.

  • Ajinkya Rahane achieved his second-fastest fifty in the same match, taking only 24 balls.

List of Top 10 Fastest Fifties in IPL History:

RankPlayerTotal RunsBalls FacedAgainstMatch Date
1Yashasvi Jaiswal (RR)98*13KKR11 May 2023
2KL Rahul (PBKS)5114DC08 April 2018
3Pat Cummins (KKR)5614MI06 April 2022
4Yusuf Pathan (KKR)7215SRH24 May 2014
5Sunil Narine (KKR)5415RCB07 May 2017
6Nicholas Pooran (LSG)6215RCB10 April 2023
7Suresh Raina (CSK)8716PBKS30 May 2014
8Ishan Kishan (MI)5121SRH08 October 2021
9Chris Gayle (RCB)17517PWI23 April 2013
10Hardik Pandya (MI)9117KKR28 April 2019

Highest Run in First Over in IPL History

The record for the most runs scored in the first over of an innings in the history of the Indian Premier League was set by Yashasvi Jaiswal with 26 runs.

Prithvi Shaw in 2021 achieved the previous maximum score of 24.

Leave a Comment